Low Income Survivors to Thrivers
NEED FOOD? Contact the USDA National Hunger Hotline by dialing 1-866-3-HUNGRY, 1-877-8-HAMBRE, or texting 914-342-7744.

Property Tax Exemptions

Is your Property your Primary Residence? Check out the rules and regulations for homeowners’ exemptions in your state. Each County Assessor’s Office has information about local property tax exemptions as well.

Did you know that a number of people qualify for property and other tax exemption programs? Some of the most common types of tax exemptions are for homestead, seniors and the disabled, military veterans, renovations, and energy incentives. For a list of property tax exemptions, visit the local county’s tax assessor’s office to determine which exemptions may be available to reduce property tax burden.

Property Tax Exemptions: Do You Qualify?

For those meeting particular requirements involving age, income and/or residency, owning a parcel that has a lower value, or a host of other reasons, we may qualify for a property tax exemption. Search online by parcel number or fund number to learn more about potential exemptions of the property. Look for your local county’s website to inquire about tax exemptions and assessment rolls.

One may also view a list of assessable property in a county, which generally identifies the property (generally by using the assessor’s parcel number found on the property tax bill), the tax rate where the property is located, the name and mailing address of the person who owns the property being assessed, the assessed value of the property, including separately assessed values for things such as land, improvements and personal property, penalties and the amount and type of exemptions.

One may also search for distinct assessment rolls for properties.

Tax Assessor List by State

Propertytax101.org has put together a list of tax assessors by state.

Property Tax Exemption Programs

Homestead Exemptions by U.S. State and Territory (assetprotectionplanners.com)

Homestead Exemptions by State and Territory

Seniors and the Disabled

Property Tax Exemptions: Who Qualifies? | Rocket Mortgage

Veteran Tax Exemptions

All Veteran Property Tax Exemptions By State and Disability Rating (veteransunited.com)

State Level Estate Taxes and Exemptions

Estate Taxes and Exemptions by State (thebalance.com)

Property Tax Exemptions: Do You Qualify?
  1. Homestead
  2. Seniors and the Disabled
  3. Military Veterans
  4. Renovations
  5. Energy Incentives

Parcel Tax Exemptions (CALIFORNIA)

In California, per Santa Clara County Association of Realtors, “Parcel taxes are real property tax assessments available to cities, counties, special districts, and school districts. These taxes are flat rate and are non-ad valorem, meaning that they are not based on the assessed value of the property. California permits, but does not require, school districts to grant exemptions from parcel taxes for those age 65 or older and persons with disabilities (Are You Eligible for a Parcel Tax Exemption, para 1)

Are You Eligible for a Parcel Tax Exemption? – Santa Clara County Association of REALTORS® (sccaor.com)

The California State Board of Equalization provides a list of Property Tax exemptions for homeowners, veterans, nonprofit and religious organizations, public schools and colleges, lessors, personal property, and other exemptions.

Look at your property tax bill. Find the listed parcel tax, then contact each separate entity to determine if there you qualify for parcel tax exemption and how to apply for each parcel tax exemption.

Public School Exemption (ca.gov)

Please click to share!

Scroll to Top
Skip to content